OPM Favorites

C360_2014-03-23-11-53-35-795(1)

Thanks to our insensitive neighbors who brought their radios to its maximum sound, I got an idea what to post. Ha-ha. Also, ALDUB gives me nostalgia every time I watch them because of their choice of background songs. So this portion of my blog is about my all time favorite OPMs and maybe something about it, or the story behind it? I mean, about my life.

I don’t know, but it’s amazing to think that sometimes, whenever something important happens, there is always background music, literally background. Or whenever we hear something, there is a certain scenario in our life that we automatically remember. Like, birthdays, right? Or that moment we (for girls) said yes. It was like there was a music playing but actually, there’s none.

First off, Kundiman by Silent Sanctuary. Whenever I hear this song, the thing that comes to my mind is when Bading and I went to U.P. Fair, I don’t know the year but it was back then and I remember that was Valentine’s Day. Since we have friends who have friends that were going to play in U.P. Fair, we had a privileged to go back stage and watch the performers like VIPs. So we watched Silent Sanctuary in the side part of the stage, I remember that there was an orchestra and one of our friends teasing us to kiss. Ha-ha. It was really a romantic scene.

Second, Ikaw Lang Ang Aking Mahal by VST & Company but it was revived by Brownman Revival. Since Bading blessed such talent, he always sings this to karaoke. I also remember being 90’s kid. I seldom heard OPM in our house since my father is a fan of slow rock, we had tons of slow rock tapes but my mom is like me that is open to different genres of music. It always hits me of my childhood memories. Like our old wooden house, cassette tapes and black and white TV. So it’s nice to hear this whenever Mcdo’s commercial comes in.

Next is Torete by Moonstar88. This was the first song that I learned to play on a guitar. It was taught. Actually, I was just forced by my mother to learn playing guitar. I don’t know, maybe because all of them know how to, both of my parents. One day, a guitar vendor passed by our house, then my mother bought one. My sister, excitedly asked them to teach her how to play it, once she’d learned, she taught our cousin. And I didn’t have any intention to learn to play it but my mother forced me to do so. I’d learned some songs and some notes but didn’t continue it.

So there. Let’s leave it like that. Actually I’m not a fan of OPM now-a-days or the songs that were being composed or became known these days. I might say, that there’s a cancer in Philippine Music industry. It’s like “trip trip na lang”. The meaning, the story and the passion had gone. I’m sorry but it’s the truth. I’m not an artist, but this is my opinion as a listener.

Anyway, I might continue this portion and let see.

Leave a Reply

